Packing List

As a resource to all future Ethiopian Peace Corps Volunteers and anyone interested enough to laugh at (all) I lugged from the Columbia Metropolitan Airport to Addis Ababa, I am posting a detailed list of what went with me across the pond.

I will preface this by saying that while I am no diva, I’m not the most rugged person ever.  Ok, really not rugged–but I’m learning!  And let me just confess, Ethiopia better be ready for floral prints and the color pink ;).  Though this is, admittedly, a very exhaustive list, as time passes, I’ll update with any items I wish I’d brought.

If you’re just scanning, here are the top 5 things I’m glad I brought:

  1. Kindle Fire- for reading, checking email, and texting US from a weird app I found
  2. Hiking Boots- for keeping feet safe from dust and dirt, for saving self from slipping in a path of rocks
  3. Carabiners- for clipping bananagrams, water bottles, compasses, flash drives, and Lord knows what else to my cross-shoulder bag
  4. Moisturizing Hand Sanitizer- wonderful of its own accord…until I ran out last weekend ;(
  5. Pelican Case- for protecting camera, phone, and birr from the elements

And as for the rest, I stuffed the following into 1 large suitcase, 1 large duffle, and a 35-liter backpack:

Shoes

tennis shoes

Birkenstock sandals

Tom’s

slip-on waterproof shoes

Chacos

waterproof hiking shoes

black flats

Clothes

socks

underwear

bathing suit

jeans (3)

khaki pants

yoga pants (2)

linen pants (2)

athletic shorts (2)

leggings

pajamas

fleece pullover

scarves (3)

t-shirts (2)

cardigans (2)

short-sleeve shirts (6)

tunics (2)

long-sleeve shirts (5)

long dresses (4)

raincoat

tights

Office

desk organizer with pens, scissors, paper clips, markers, art supplies, stationery

Gifts

small windchime

seed packets

bubbles

post cards from SC

harmonica

Gear

sleeping bag

headlamp

mosquito net

quick-dry towel

carabiners

compass

duct tape

Treats

nail polish/q-tips/remover

Reese’s Pieces

almonds

Technology

iPod speakers

iPod

flash drive

external hard drive

computer

kindle

converter/adapter

camera

Nest

picture frames

blanket

comfy pillow from home

Other

jewelry in cute boxes/holders

Lonely Planet Ethiopian Amharic guide

purses (1 medium, 1 small)

portfolio

Think I missed something?  Feel free to send a surprise at your convenience ;):

Amanda Sutker/PCT
US Peace Corps/Ethiopia
P.O. Box 7788
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

One thought on “Packing List

Leave a Reply

